Moving Revelations

At birth I was blessed, I arrived 2 years and 1 month after my best friend, my brother.  We grew up side-by-side, navigating life.   When it was too scary for my bro to climb the stairs because it was too dark, I’d go up first and switch on the light.  When I woke in the middle of the night terrified by nightmares, he’d let me sneak in his room for refuge, glowworm clutched in my hand. (Remember those?)  When I got older, it felt good knowing that distance didn’t break our bind.  In Utah, I received this call, “Is so-in-so the one making you cry?  Just tell me, I swear to God I’ll jump on a plane and beat his @ss.” The best part is I knew he meant it.  It feels good having that guy in your corner.

Finding people help you move Sucks Monkey Balls. Fact. My bro works 12-14hrs a day, 6 days a week.  It seemed selfish to ask him to help me move on his day off.  The subject was broached one night over drinks; he was planning on going to the beach.  I told him not to worry about it and I’d figure it out.  The next day a text came through, “Relax.  Just relax, I got this.” And because I know my brother, I could do just that- we’d figure it out, we always do.

On moving day, I picked up my brother and one of his employees who agreed to help.  The three of us went to U-Haul, got a truck and I sat sandwiched on the floor between the driver and passenger. It was a relief not having to drive.  It was a relief having the men do the heavy lifting, strategically organizing the truck and then hauling all my stuff up to the 3rd floor of an old building.  As I watched them sweat and grunt maneuvering the furniture through the narrow hallways, it dawned on me that I am indeed a Warrior PRINCESS not just a warrior.  There are things as a female that I simply can’t do, that I am not suppose to do, that I should let a man do for me.  It feels good knowing that I always got at least one good man in my corner that has my back.  Actually, I have been blessed with a few of them and their chivalrous ways keep a smile on my face and love in my heart.

Counting my Blessings,

A Warrior Princess

Ps. Picture above was the last item of the move, my writing chair.  It literally got wedged in the door frame.  Figuring it out meant buying a saw and removing the legs.

2 comments on “Moving Revelations

  1. Kr says:

    I guess being the sister that did your make up like a clown didn’t count for a lot. So happy the move worked:)

  2. […] Name: Chef John Taus, a.k.a my big bro […]

Leave a Reply

