Your Great Dream

My numbers are climbing, I am doing a lot of I think I can, I think I can chanting, willing myself to the top of this novel writing mountain. Its exciting! I just have to stay the course and take faith in knowing that I’m doing it, one free write at a time.  I will be taking the rest of today and tomorrow off to write.  By Thanksgiving I am hoping to reach 40,000.  If you are participating in Your Great Dream challenge the next excercise is featured below:

Design: Future Best Self

This week we’re moving from dreaming our many possible futures to designing a specific “best possible self.”  Here’s the prompt I want you to write about:

Think about your life in the future. Imagine that everything has gone as well as it possibly could. You have worked hard and succeeded at accomplishing all of your life goals. Think of this as the realization of all of your life dreams. Now, write about what you imagined.

Write to this prompt four days in a row, for at least 20 minutes at a time.  Start each day fresh – put aside what you wrote the day before and start from scratch.  That doesn’t mean you have to write about different futures each day – just start with a blank page.

Try to write as full and clear a picture as you can about your future best self.  To the extent that you can, incorporate people, places, things, how you’ll be, and what you’ll do.  You may want to think about the different types of well-being:  from where will you draw your positive emotions, engagement, relationships, meaning, and accomplishment.  These are just some ideas – don’t feel constrained or pressured by them.

After you’ve written your four responses, pick one to post and bring to class to share and/or discuss next week.  You are welcome to revise/refine the one that you choose – but only after you’ve written four different times.

If you have any questions during the week, feel free to email me at reb@futurebestself.com.  Or post your question as a post below for everyone to see.

Keep on Truckin,

A Warrior Princess

Leave a Reply

