Your Great Dream

2012-NaNo-Winner-Certificate

I did it!  I completed 51,000 words on Monday the 26th, five days early.  It felt good to be early; I am never on time when it comes to my writing.  One of my favorite parts of this competition was submitting my manuscript to Nanowrimo.  As I navigated the site, copied and pasted sections of my novel from a word document to their word counting system, All Shades Yellow sat next to me coaching me through this literary baby delivery.

“Hee-hee” she coached, “That’s it, now drag and click.  That a girl!  Slow and steady. Hee-hee.”

In my cubby, we sat pretending like I was birthing a literary giant through my canal instead of what really is a sh*tty first draft.  And you know what?  It felt d@mn good to do.  Thank you all for joining me on this journey, it is definitely not over, rather it has just begun.

To all my dreamers participating in Your Great Dream series, the last exercise of Robert (Reb) Rebele Your Future Best Self class is listed below:

Destiny: Simulate the Scenery

The new writing assignment this week is to write the “road trip version” of your Future Best Self.  Recall the story I shared contrasting my road trip to Michigan – where I spent as much of my planning on imagining and simulating the scenery as I did on picturing the destination – and my flight to Australia – where I only pictured the destination but then had to spend much more time than I planned on the journey.  Essentially, this assignment is to write the story of how you get from here, today, to the Future Best Self you described.

For this assignment, you might choose to keep your Future Best Self written as-is, then writing the story as a preceding chapter that describes the journey.  Others might find it helpful to more fully integrate the two.  Depending on how satisfied you are with what you wrote last week, you may decide to re-write the Future Best Self as part of this week’s assignment.

This assignment is also pretty wide open in terms of structure and approach.  You can choose to write a little bit each day or try to churn it out in a marathon session.  You may or may not want to edit your first draft.  And it may read like a story, or an outline, or a hybrid that gives “chapter titles and short descriptions” for the important points along the way.  In other words, find a form and an approach to doing the writing that works for you.

Lastly, think about our previous prompts and how they might influence your journey.  Who are the people, where are the places, what are the things, what are you being and doing along the way to your Future Best Self?  What positive emotions are you experiencing along the way?  Are there key accomplishments or relationships?  What meaning or purpose sustains your motivation and engagement in this process?  By no means do you need to address all of those, but to the extent that you can get specific about these things, go for it.

 

Winning,

A Warrior Princess

3 comments on “Your Great Dream

  1. Anonymous says:

    very proud of you!!!!
    -meow

  2. Anonymous says:

    Always very proud of you!

Leave a Reply

