Double Dog Dare: Brave Truths

Braveheart-braveheart-727143_413_479[1]

When I told my 15-year old nephew that it is 2013: the Year of the Goddess, the Way of the Valiant Gent, he told me that it is his year of Truth.  I felt both proud and protective warning him, “Tread slowly, Truth is a lifelong pursuit.” 

Like most beasts, Truth has an underbelly, a dark side that can be unraveling in nature.  I learned this the hard way.  I went straight at Truth like William Wallace from Braveheart yelling “Frreeeeeeedomn”, sword swinging overhead blue-faced and without fear.  Truth turned that sword around on me, sliced and diced my insides into so many unrecognizable parts that I wasn’t sure if I’d make it back.  I got wounded, knocked down and sent to the back of the line to recover.  At that time I was despondent and full of hate.  Fortunately, through this battle I discovered my truest self and resurfaced as a Warrior Princess with love in her heart and a story to tell. 

My battle with Truth taught me this:

Truth is as layered and soiled as our human history full of ugly contractions and harsh realities.  In my search, I asked questions whose answers lead to other questions whose answers undermined the very value and believe system that most of my accepted Truths were founded on.  What do you do when your foundation crumbles from beneath you?  To whom do you turn when you no longer know how to identify friend from foe, love from hate? 

I’ve learned many people stop approaching Truth because it’s too unsettling, it’s too uncomfortable- a beast of burden they cannot bear.  I hear expressions like, that’s just the way it is and I become enraged thinking sure, but that’s not the way it has to be, they way it ought to be

The beauty and power of Truth, however, is that it can influence and change you.  By engaging in honest conversations with myself and others I continuously learn about life and more importantly I have nothing to hide, no secrets to bury or lies to cover up.  I believe Truth can liberate the soul giving it wings to fly.

My double dog dare is for you to approach and engage with Truth by listening to the below talk and watching the below documentary. 

A Call to Men- Tony Porter  (click to listen) 11:13

In this ted.com talk Tony Porter tells personal stories about growing up in the Bronx and feeling pressured to adhere to the ‘man box’.  Experiences that influenced him later in life when he was raising his own children and challenged him to ‘break free from the man box’.

Quote from talk:

“My liberation as a man is tied to your liberation as a woman.  I remember asking a nine year old boy, ‘What would life be like for you if you didn’t have to adhere to this man box?’  He replied, ‘I would be free.’”

Miss Representation Extended trailer  (click to listen)8:52

Miss Representation Full Documentary (click to listen) 1:31  

A Sundance documentary by Jennifer Siebel Newsom that “explores how the media’s misrepresentations of women have led to the underrepresentation of women in positions of power and influence.”  Before you role your eyes and call me a feminist I double dog dare you to watch the documentary and engage with the text.

Quote from documentary:

“King said it very eloquently; the problem today is not the vitriolic words and actions of the bad people, but the appalling silence and inaction of the good people.”

Fully Loaded,

A Warrior Princess

 

 

 

One comment on “Double Dog Dare: Brave Truths

  1. […] at work and his texted back was an immediate, unfiltered response.  I also knew there was a lot of truth in his […]

Leave a Reply

