Double Dog Dare: CD/Mixtapes

Firefly_logo

On Monday night, I arrived at my front door exhausted and grumpy.  As I jimmied my key into the lock a feeling like a strong gust of cold wind crept through the marrow of my being.  I shivered a response trying to shake off the cold.  Similar to the weather that is always changing; I am a being that is always feeling.  Every now and again, a mixture of loneliness and self-pity will present itself on my internal radar.  Just like I don’t judge the rain when it falls, I let these feelings pass through me.  However, this particular storm moved quickly along because sitting in my foyer was a yellow package with big black lettering addressed to me.  Mail! I squealed in glee.  As I climbed the stairs to my studio I carefully opened the package releasing a CD into my hand.  On the cover was a hand crafted picture of fireflies in a jar and a post-it note that read:

Enjoy the preview!
See You soon!
Get pumped!

I stopped mid-stair and laughed as a beam of sunshine shot through me.  Now that is some old-school love, I said to myself as I tapped the CD mix against my palm feeling immense gratitude towards my fabulous girlfriend.  I proceeded up the stairs, put in the CD and jammed out as I cooked myself dinner.  This CD was sent in prep for Fireflies music festival and indeed I am pumped for a 3 day camping/music extravaganza.  My double dog dare to you is to make a mixed CD for someone just because you thought it might make them smile.  My bet is it will!

Below are the tracks that were sent to me, hope you enjoy the jams as much as I did:

1. Whirring– The Joy Formidable
2. Default– Django Django
3. Forever– Haim
4. Brendan’s Death Song– Red Hot Chili Peppers
5. Feel So Close– Calvin Harris
6. Waves– Blondfire
7. Houdini-Foster the People
8. Safe and Sound– Capital Cities
9. Lights– Ellie Goulding
10. Alive– Krewella
11. Swimming Pools (Drank)– Kendrick Lamar
12. Hold On– Alabama Shakes
13. Put the Gun Down– ZZ Ward
14. Clarity– Zedd
15. Two weeks– Grizzly Bear
16. Despair- Yeah Yeah Yeahs
17. Diane Young– Vampire Weekend
18. American Girl- Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers

 

Fireflies and Camping,

A Warrior Princess

 

3 comments on “Double Dog Dare: CD/Mixtapes

  1. Anonymous says:

    love it!!!

  2. Carissa says:

    Aww!! I love it! Makes me feel like a bad old same… I have had a package for you in my backseat for weeks and haven’t gotten to a post office to mail lit!!

  3. Jai says:

    I am currently also rocking to a Firefly Preview CD from a fabulous friend ~ bummed I’m missing it. Love love love you girls.

Leave a Reply

