Artists at Play: Deceptive Masks * The Illusionist

illusionist

Title: The Illusionist

Artist: Niki Scarfo

Inspiration: My inspiration was taken from my own personal experiences. At 16, I went through a lot all at one time.  I have witnessed how ‘easy’ it is to just put on a fake smile and act like the world is a perfect place.  Too often we say we are “ok” when really we feel the exact opposite.  People tend to hide their true feelings because they feel their pain is a bother to others. A smile helps keep this pain concealed. I used yellow paint because the color normally represents happiness or joy. On the yellow paint I smudged black to represent the darkness of the girl’s suffering. I used smiley faces because this, of course, is the deceptive mask she wears.

 

Murky Colors,

A Warrior Princess

 

 

One comment on “Artists at Play: Deceptive Masks * The Illusionist

  1. Cassandra Gates says:

    awesome!

Leave a Reply

