Breaking News: Pun Intended

Last weekend I went back to my parent’s house for Little Quent’s christening.  On Saturday morning, my four-year-old nephew and I watched Home Alone.  Featured above is a clip of highlights from the movie.  Together, my nephew and I uproariously laughed as we watched Marv and Harry be terrorized by Kevin McCallister (a.k.a McCauley Culkin). 

We especially liked the scenes where the grown men slipped on ice, landing pancake style on their backs, feet dangling helplessly in the air above them.  Insert: maniacal laughter.  Throughout the weekend we quoted the movie back to each other,

“Keep the change, ya filthy animal.”

“You guys give up yet? Or are you thirsty for more?”

Then pre-dawn on Monday morning, as I packed my car for work, I slipped on a patch of black ice.  Whoop.  Just like the movie I landed pancake style on my back.  This time I wasn’t laughing.  Instead, I lay on the ice like a big Baby Huey thinking, this shit ain’t funny.

And it wasn’t. 

I ended up breaking my ankle and needing surgery.  On Friday, six screws and a metal plate were inserted into my ankle to connect and realign my bones.  Like everything in life, I always go big.  For the next couple of weeks I will be on Medical Leave and consequently not posting.  After this post, I will introduce the next Artists at Play theme for December through March.   Then there will be a period of silence to revel in.  

Silent Night,

A Warrior Princess

One comment on “Breaking News: Pun Intended

  1. Olivia says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your poor ankle ….get well soon!

Leave a Reply

