My Birth Story

Last year I was encouraged by a teacher to write my birth story from the point of view of an unborn child. There was a scientific study connected with this exercise that I forget. But there is something powerful in remembering yourself as a little baby and envisioning how it felt to be born. What it felt like to emerge. I’m not sure why, but I felt inspired to share mine with you today.  Hope you enjoy!

My imagined birth story: I slide round and round in a funnel like fashion moving towards a circular opening. I am not sure if I am supposed to leave the safety of this dark womb, the other side seems rather loud and bright. However, something propels me forward through the hole and places me in the care of two large hands. I keep my eyes shut. It is chaos out here. Voices are loud and varied; nothing sounds familiar. Behind the chatter is an incessant beeping noise. I am plopped onto a table, my skin is so cold and alien to me.  As I lay there I notice I am no longer surrounded by water, I have lost my protection, my comfortable dwelling place.

Hovering over my head is a bright light that feels invasive but it is also warm. I cry out in alarm, there is a sharp pain that violates my senses. It’s the first time I hear my own voice and its power alarms me. I can’t stop crying. People keep poking and prodding until finally I am swaddled in a fuzzy blanket. It is so nice to be back in a warm place. I am carried across the room and placed into a pair of new arms. “Hello my sweet little baby.” This voice I know, just hearing it makes me feel safe and I fart in relief. My mother giggles as she pulls me closer to her. Standing above her is a man smiling. He has big white teeth but I am not afraid. He reaches out and places the pad of his thumb on my cheek. This calms me, I like this guy. Pretty soon fatigue sets in and I close my eyes peacefully drifting back into the darkness.

In the Beginning,
A Warrior Princess

2 comments on “My Birth Story

  1. mamacita says:

    Is that how this literary baby is gonna feel?

  2. […] my coworker called me over to her desk. “I read your birth story post and I have one of mine own to share.” She […]

Leave a Reply

