Fishtown Fringe

Map made by: Tangle Arts Movement

Map made by: Tangle Arts Movement

 

Dear Readers,

I apologize for my seven month radio silence. It wasn’t intentional. I just got consumed with finishing my degree and revising the novel. The degree is secured and my novel is still under revision (more on that later). More importantly, I am thrilled to announce I am performing in this year’s Philadelphia Fringe Festival, which takes place the first three weeks in September at venues all over the city, showcasing performances of a wide variety.

Post graduation, I triple dog dared myself to enter Fringe. And after a long search Amber Emory signed up to be my director. Amber is helping me take this piece to the next level. This is my first artistic collaboration and it’s exciting to be working with someone driven, passionate and talented. Some of the first feedback she gave me was, “Julia, I’ve never known SO much about a secondary character. Tell us your story. Own it.” I nodded. She was right. And then we got to work and used the original script as an outline for the one I’m performing in September. I’m terrified. I mean really terrified. But performing on stage is also something I have wanted to do since I’ve been a little girl, so it’s good scary. I hope you come to the show and experience the unfolding of A Cocoon of Your Own Making. Tickets are on sale now!

And to get y’all as excited as I am for the festival, I am running a series called Fishtown Fringe profiling artists and shows that are happening in the Fishtown/Kensington/North Philly area. Along with some other Fringe related posts. Things are moving very fast but I hope to deliver some interesting material.

Spread the Word,
A Warrior Princess

4 comments on “Fishtown Fringe

  1. Pamela Groves says:

    Hi Muser! This is SOOOO EFFING EXCITING and I am proud of you! I will be getting tickets to be sure. Back in London with my daughter and feeling super grateful because I woke to blue sky again. Good weather has been following me. Love LOVE love! Pamela

  2. Anonymous says:

    Very excited for you. Will be present and bringing others with me to see your performance. Best of luck and love always, mom

  3. […] Sharing the two Phindie Reviews I did thus far for this year’s Fringe festival: […]

  4. […] In other news, sharing the two more of my Phindie Reviews for this year’s Fringe festival: […]

Leave a Reply

