Fishtown Fringe: Pretty Tall for a Hobbit

Photo provided by: John Michael Esposito, Founder/Exec Director Ananke Creative

Photo provided by: John Michael Esposito, Founder/Exec Director
Ananke Creative

Show Name: Pretty Tall for a Hobbit
Show Location: Middle Earth, 339A West Girard Avenue
Show Websites: www.anankecreative.com
Show Times:
Sept. 3 @ 7:30 pm
Sept. 4 @ 6:30pm & 9:30pm
Sept. 5 @ 2:00pm & 5:30pm & 9:30pm
Sept. 6 @ 12:30pm & 5:00pm
Sept. 10 @ 7:30 pm
Sept. 11 @ 6:30pm & 8pm & 9:30pm
Sept. 12 @ 6:30pm & 8pm & 9:30pm
Sept. 13 @ 6pm

If you held a microphone up to the piece what it would say: “Come with me.” This piece is about a girl who is facing the enviable: growing up and realizing all that comes with it. From daydreaming about space travel and a fast metabolism, to the harsh reality of having to narrow down her goals for the future, it’s a scary world to toss a person out into and if you’d please, she’d really like some company.

Words that Embody your Show: Nerd-culture, adventures, control, confusion, laughter, love-letters, and nuggets.

Inspirational literature, music, works of art while crafting this show: Pretty Tall for a Hobbit was sparked into creation by the 2013 movie “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.” I saw a man I connected with and a soundtrack I breathed. And above all, the Lord of the Rings soundtrack by Howard Shore.

Double Dog Dare: I double dog dare (serious business) these readers to sleep outside one night. Get to a campsite, pitch a tent in the back yard; however you do it, spend a whole night outdoors. It’s still warm, it’s still summer(ish), lay out and look at the stars!

What’s Up Next: EgoPo Classical Theater Co. production of “The Children’s Hour” by Lillian Hellman. I will be playing the role of Evelyn Munn. I have a lisp! Previews begin October 7, opening night is October 9.

Define Success as an Artist: My definition as an artist is split in two. Half of me says “whenever I am creating and proud of my work, I am successful.” The other half says “when I don’t need to have three other jobs just to make due.”

Day Job: This summer I lived the four job New Jersey life. Summer camp counselor for special needs children at Camp Discovery, manager for the KidsZone at the Lakewood Blue Claws Single A baseball team, waitress at Ruby Tuesday, and a writer for an outdoor camping website www.hipcamp.com.

Artistic Diet: I am an avid advocate for drawing and coloring books. I try to take the time to draw every day, little doodles, complicated things, whatever I feel with no pressure, or I color in a coloring book. It relaxes me in a world of chaos. Talking with family and friends. I gather stories, I practice pieces, I listen. Basically, I have to distract me from myself. Otherwise, I’m beating myself up over a weirdly-worded sentence I wrote last week.

Favorite Places of Inspiration: Jamestown, Rhode Island will forever be my source of inspiration. Whenever I am surrounded in nature I am inspired and at rest.

Last Book Read to Completion: Return of the King, the final book in the Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien. The last book (not counting re-reads), would be a collection of Louise Glück’s poetry. (HIGHLY RECOMMEND.)

Thanks!
Katie Verde

A Note From A Warrior Princess: I broke the rules and posted after 5:30pm.  MY sincere apologies, y’all.

Leave a Reply

