2016 TJ Workshop Reading List

Many of you have congratulated me about this upcoming workshop in private messages, emoji filled texts, emails and personal exchanges. Thank you. Your words of encouragement and support fuel my engines. And I’d be remiss not to mention how much I enjoy being here, in this space and place with you. It keeps me more than honest; it keeps me invigorated and inspired with a deeper sense of everyday purpose.

This workshop is narrowing my focus. I’m keenly aware it’s crucial I show up ready to impress, ready to get noticed for more than just blog writing. The goal is not only to strengthen my writing muscles but also to establish strong relationships and connections inside the publishing industry. And I’ve decided against pursing a 10K wage increase to participate in this workshop, which means I have to drive it home proper. How am I planning on doing this? Reading. It’s that simple. My target reading rate is one book every two weeks. And elow is the reading list I compiled with the help of Mr. Jenks and Dr. Levitt. It’s broken in four parts: Required Reading, Authors Tom Jenks Worked With, Modernist Fictional Classics (taken from The Rhetoric of Modernist Fiction by Morton Levitt) and Personal Choices.  I will also be posting mini book reports at the completion of each novel.

2016 TJ Workshop Reading List

Required Reading:
*This section was assigned by Tom; all workshop participants must read it.

“Red Dress—1946,” Alice Munro
“Lying Under the Apple Tree,” Alice Munro
“Goodbye to All That,” Joan Didion
“The Magic Barrel,” Bernard Malamud
“No Place for You, My Love,” Eudora Welty
Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf
“Sonny’s Blues,” James Baldwin
“All Aunt Hagar’s Children,” Edward P. Jones
Poetics, Aristotle
The Fire Next Time, James Baldwin

Authors Tom Jenks Worked With:
*At the bottom of the workshop flyer there were six columns of authors Tom Jenks worked with in the past. Two of my coworkers reviewed this list and recommended the below books for me to read.

Stones from the River, Ursula Hegi
The Human Stain, Philip Roth
A Prayer for Owen Meany, John Irving
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, Michael Chabon

Modernist Fictional Classics:
*These books I personally selected after reading “The Rhetoric of Modernist Fiction” by Morton Levitt.

The Waves, Virginia Woolf
Madame Bovary, Faulbert
Book of Daniel, E. L. Doctorow
Swann’s Way, Marcel Proust
The Last Temptation, Nikos Kazantzakis

Personal Choices:
*These are books, for various reasons, I promised to read before publication.
Moby Dick, Herman Melville
The Art of War, Tzu Sun
Dante’s Inferno, Dante Alighieri

 

Fictional Adventures,

A Warrior Princess

2 comments on “2016 TJ Workshop Reading List

  1. TTJ says:

    Pursue your dreams

  2. Anonymous says:

    Go for it girl!

Leave a Reply

