Poetry in Motion: My Loyal Muse

My Loyal Muse

You hide in the hollows of my studio apartment walls
like a scared kitty cat.

I hear your low, pathetic rumble of a purr –
sounding more like a hungry man’s empty stomach
than a desired lover’s moan.

For sport, in kindness, simply because I can’t resist,
I place a bowl of warm milk next to the door –
alluring you near, but never quite drawing you out
for a drink.

I know I can’t help those who won’t help themselves.
Frustrated, I retreat to my writing chair
to meet you here in the spaces between–
the only place you willing come–
my defiant lover but loyal muse.

Got Milk?

A Warrior Princess

7 comments on “Poetry in Motion: My Loyal Muse

  1. Hugo says:

    Love it..if y put a book together o would illustrate it.!!!!awesome

  2. Anonymous says:

    How much milk you need, Honey?

  3. Anonymous says:

    And all this time I thought I was your loyal muse.

  4. Gee – I suddenly feel like I need to put down a bowl of milk. 🙂 Loved the poem.

Leave a Reply

