DNC Coverage: Pulling the Plug

The other day I had a conversation with Mamacita.  In the middle, she abruptly stated, “You need to stop with the DNC posts.  I’m on the verge of unsubscribing.  They are so Goddamn boring.”

“Really? Are you sure?  Because I still have about five to go and feel obligated to finish what I started.”

“No. You just want to impress the cute journalist with your reporting skills.”

I sighed, already admitting defeat.

There was, of course, about 20% truth in this statement.  But moreover, I was trying to connect with something nationally known and watched; something much larger than myself.  I was trying to take Tom Jenks advice to “unself the self.”  But when Mamacita, one of my most loyal and honest readers, tells me she’s about to unsubscribe, it’s important I listen.  And so, I am pulling the plug on the DNC.  I hope I haven’t lost too many of you.

Before hanging up the phone, I read the quote Celeste Headlee’s sister said to her about retaining audience interest (found in the Ted talk featured above):

“A good conversation is like a miniskirt; short enough to retain interest, but long enough to cover the subject.”

Short Skirts,

A Warrior Princess

10 comments on “DNC Coverage: Pulling the Plug

  1. Anonymous says:

    Loved the analogy miniskirt & conversation.
    Well said!!
    Thanx for sharing

  2. Anonymous says:

    Loved the analogy of miniskirt & conversation.
    Well said!!
    Thanx for sharing

  3. Kelly Ring says:

    Thank sweet baby jesus there is mercy in the world. DNC is over. Happy friday

  4. Anonymous says:

    I really like that quot.

  5. even Pete Rose struck out here and there, Looking forward to the next hit.

  6. Not familiar with name drop but ready to take another swing! Thanks for Vote of Confidence man!

  7. I honor your sacred right of choice to write about whatever you want, and especially that which supports your own chosen purpose. Our true genius comes from whatever passion drives us. in lak’ech, Debra

Leave a Reply

