It IS Possible

This article 164. We love our novels ambitious and expansive by Sarah Begley my mother sent to me a couple months back.  It speaks of how Yaa Gyasi’s secured a seven-figure advance for her first novel Homegoing at the age of 26-years-old.  I reread it again last night realizing how hungry I am for this to be me while also knowing I’m not there yet.  I have to get back inside the folds of my novel to revise it one more time before I’ll be in a position to confidently cold call an agent.  A good friend of mine said to me, “Julia, finishing your novel is your brand.  Trust that.  Put in the work and put on the blinders.  Stop trying to collaborate with other artists or looking for the advice of experts.  You no longer need them.  Only you can finish this now.”  Of course, he is right.  For this reason, I’m in the middle of coming up with a game plan and a series of deadlines to hold myself accountable while still being able to share my work with all of you in a meaningful way.

Game on, Garth,

A Warrior Princess

 

4 comments on “It IS Possible

  1. Jaime says:

    Have you heard about Emma Cline? https://www.wired.com/2016/06/the-girls-emma-cline-anointed-author/ She’s a young, up-and-coming author. Maybe you could find some inspiration in her story. YOU GOT THIS! ❤ LOVE YOU!

  2. You have your MOJO back, now go kick some ass!

  3. Priscilla says:

    Be genuine, put YOUR heart into it, get it done- LS- always loving you, BS

Leave a Reply

