2017: Happy New Year!

boy-who-could-not-dream

 

Welcome to 2017: The Year of Flow Mode & Dreaming in HD.

Somewhat fittingly, I closed out 2016 gifting eight copies of a children’s book I wrote many moons ago and decided to revisit and revise this Christmas.  The Boy Who Could Not Dream is about a 6th grader named Sean whose class must keep a dream journal for a week.  At the end they circle up to share their collective dreams, only Sean tells of a reoccurring nightmare that scares his class.  Feeling dejected Sean walks a different route home from school only to discover a church with an open window.  Glorious music pours out of the window as Sean lingers beneath.  To his surprise, an old woman who sings in the choir befriends him and eventually gives Sean an engraved harmonica.  That night after playing the harmonica Sean has his first real dream.

Two amazing things happened in crafting this story.  First, my seven-year-old nephew Ryder read the story aloud to me, line by line, and found a grammatical syntax error.  Later, to his parents, he called me an artist.  In my world, this holds almost as much weight as Pultizer.  Secondly, I went to South Street Sounds to purchase the harmonicas, the store I used to record my poetry, and the owner Jeff gave me a generous discount saying, “Thank you for creating your work.”  Of course, my hopes are to one day publish and be able to sell these books to all of you.  But until then it feels darn good to be acknowledged and appreciated by people like Ryder & Jeff!

 

Teardrop and Smile,

A Warrior Princess

9 comments on “2017: Happy New Year!

  1. Pamela Groves says:

    sounds intriguing! good for you that you decided to revisit and revise! 🙂 Pam

    • Ah, Pam, so true as real writing is all about the revisit/revision process. I’ve got a couple more stories out there that need to be attended to as such! Thanks for the note, always good to hear from you! < 3

  2. Kathryn Watterson says:

    Dear Julia, Thank you so much for your gift of your book and the harmonica. I appreciate it and you. Belated Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! I hope that the light of 2017 shines I’m you and on you. Love, Kitsi

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. I share your Joy, Julia. And, yes, you are an Artist, so let there be no mistaking that! Happy New Year and wishes for unfolding abundance. in lak’ech, Debra

  4. Anonymous says:

    You’re a pretty special person.

  5. . . . thanks for the positive affirmation, mate!

Leave a Reply

