Poetry In Motion: The Veteran

Picture Credit: My Old Same

The Veteran
He goes by many aliases
but answers best to sir, as in:

Yes, sir.
No, sir.
Will do, sir.

Standing attention. Saluting the
American Flag with his government
issued name – one I’ve accidentally
come to know – stitched in camouflage
shining in the morning light of dawn.

When people refer to him as “the man”
he shakes his head no, saying: “You are
confusing me with my father” –
paying homage to the junior behind
his title and the long linage of
Taino warriors he’s descended from.

The first time I lay naked next to him
I know I’m wrapped snugly in the arms
of a trained killer – left to imagine
what these hands were commanded
to do upon my civilian behalf.

In his eyes, I see the enemy –
the one they sent him to handle –
the hatred of 1,000 men,
bloody, defeated, on their
way to an early grave.

On his lips, I taste burnt skin, charred,
beyond repair.  I don’t hesitate.
I pull him near, inviting him in,
naively thinking my waters
can cleanse a nation’s sins.

Yes, sir.
No, sir.
Will do, sir.

The dirty remnants of war.

I Salute, Sir.
A Warrior Princess

3 comments on “Poetry In Motion: The Veteran

  1. Lisamarie McGrath says:

    WOW! Cherie! This is Powerful…the poem and the video! I am in Sante Fe at present staying at an airbnb of two incredible Women. One Indigenous to New Zealand and Australia and the other indigenous to the Navaho nation, France and Ireland! They are artist, women married to each other and quite remarkable. We Women are being called to do some important things. :o))

    Thank you for sharing this profundity and I am so grateful we are walking Mother Earth together! XOXOX

    Love YOU, Sister-Warrior Princess Sacred Drifter/Lisamarie p.s. I am on my way to the Tri-annual gathering of Peace/Sound Chamber Elders. :o))

    On Tue, Apr 25, 2017 at 10:16 AM, WpMusings.com wrote:

    > warri0rprincess posted: ” This past weekend, at the Philadelphia Antique > Show I had the honor and privilege to say this poem aloud to one of the > show managers, along with this year’s Chair. It was a friendly, impromptu > moment that had me feeling extra charged as we were actua” >

  2. you keep my fires lit …. wado dear SD!

  3. Anonymous says:

    beautiful poem

Leave a Reply

